Archive for September 7, 2012

Whenever we travel, I love doing touristy things. This past weekend my wife, son, and I, traveled to Detroit for a wedding. On our last day there, which was labor day, we were looking for something fun to do as a family. Since my son loves trains, we decided to visit Greenfield Village, as we heard rumors that there was a train that went around the park.

Once we got there, the first thing that we did was ride the train. Of course my son loved it. After that, we spent the next couple hours exploring the park. While I enjoyed all that the park had to offer, the one thing that really struck my interest was a sign found in the Steinmetz Cabin. I had never heard of Dr. Charles Steinmetz before this day, but after reading this short tidbit about his life I am interested in finding out more about his work as a mathematician.

Dr. Charles Steinmetz

Oh yeah, I forgot to mention the best part of the day. When we got there, we were ready to shell out the $17 per ticket. To our surprise, Labor day happened to be a Target Family Fun Day and admission into the park was free. All we had to pay for were the train and bus rides, sunscreen so that we wouldn’t have a little red kid, and our all-you-can-drink soda (which we weren’t able to refill because of the super long lines that we didn’t want to stand in). Thank you Target…You Made Our Day!